Released today, 18th June 2020

The band which sounds like they have stepped right out of 1968 release their timeless mix of deftly-crafted melodies, jaw-dropping harmonies, and story-telling lyrics combining into the heady swirl of Small Town Fairy Tales today – 18th June 2020.

The album sees singer Marie Dance; singer and guitarist, Michael Bickers aided and abetted by double-bassist Richard Dadson and Stomp legend, Theseus Gerard on drums and household percussion embracing the folk-rock dreamworld. The Purple Shoes seem to have plucked straight out of the minds of some of the greatest singer-songwriters of the 1960s and 70s.

Their magical harmonies bring to mind acts such as Simon & Garfunkel and Fleetwood Mac. Encompassing a songwriting style that may fool you to believe you were listening to songs from the booming counterculture of the Sixties.

The band traveled the UK and Ireland forming a loving bond with their fans. Eschewing pedals and studio effects, The Purple Shoes’ sound is made all the more breath-taking by its truth and honesty – their songs live and breathe in the moment, capturing the sheer majesty of their harmonies and the earworm grooves which come courtesy of Dadson and Gerard.

Small Town Fairy Tales – out now – is a collection of 12 songs written over the past two years and, as the title suggests, tells the story of life and love in a recognisable locale of characters we all see in our own lives. Relatable, uplifting and perfect escapism from our current locked-down lives, Small Town Fairy Tales is an invitation to have fun, unwind and remember why you fell in love with music in the first place.

Small Town Fairy Tales

  1. Strange
  2. Good Morning (Is It Over?)
  3. Heartbreaker
  4. Small Town Fairy Tale
  5. Rain Has Gone
  6. Angel Shoes
  7. Melody’s Eyes
  8. I See You
  9. He Holds On
  10. Santa Cruz
  11. Born to Play
  12. Ophelia

Listen to the album now!:





For more information, please contact or call 01223 844 440

Original Article

No1 Music Blog News